Band that Started in Self-Storage Unit Releases New Album

Posted on Dec 28 2009 - 5:48am by Kim Kilpatrick

Sick Sense, a punk band that formed in Riverside, California, in 1993 and got its start meeting and rehearsing in a self-storage unit, released its new album, “Welcome to the Sick Side,” this December. 

The band had intended to release the album earlier in 2009, but decided to hold off because of the recession. Thinking that the economy has improved somewhat, Sick Sense decided to release the new album at an early December concert in Canyon Crest, California. “We feel like it’s the time to do it,” said singer Mando Ochoa. The band gave away CDs of the album to the first 50 people to arrive at the concert. Ochoa took pride in noting that the band’s fans span many age groups. “I think the people who just love punk rock music love it until they’re 80 to 90 years old,” Ochoa commented. “There’s no age limit to punk rock.” 

“Welcome to the Sick Side” was recorded as an indie, or independent, album, which means it was not recorded by a major record company. 

Ochoa founded Sick Sense in 1993. Over the next few years, while the band practiced in a self-storage unit, other band members came and went. Paul Oliveras (guitar) left and went on to form Future Primitive and Cosmic Creeps. Jason Bakx (drums) left to form S.M.D. and The Black Helicopters. Ricky Siordia (bass) left punk rock altogether in 2004. The band’s current members are Daniel Wasson (bass), Joey Cazarez (drums), Rev Brown (guitar), and Mando Ochoa (vocals). The band has shared a stage with many well known punk groups, including the Dickies, Di, Voodoo Glow Skulls, Guttermouth, T.S.O.L., Union 13, Creeper, Ten Foot Pole, Agent Orange, UK Subs, D.F.L., Zeke, Beowulf and others. Sick Sense has also gone on an international tour with Voodoo Glow Skulls and Ten Foot Pole.